more from

Western Automatic

by Chicago Reed Quartet

  • Compact Disc (CD)

    ships out within 7 days

      $15 USD or more 



1. Burn Unit (Williams) [7:24]
2. Remnant (Mazzarella) [5:01]
3. Broken Record Fugue (Vandermark) [8:57]
4. The Rush (Rempis) [9:00]
5. Camera Obscura (Mazzarella) [6:43]
6. P.O.P. (Williams) [11:47]
7. Hotsy Totsy (Rempis) [8:03]
8. Detroit Fields (Vandermark) [7:05]

Nick Mazzarella – alto saxophone
Dave Rempis – alto/tenor/baritone saxophone
Mars Williams – sopranino/soprano/alto/tenor saxophone
Ken Vandermark – clarinet/bass clarinet, tenor/baritone saxophone

All tracks recorded August 10th, 2014 at the Hungry Brain, Chicago except for Track 6 recorded June 21st, 2014 at the Sugar Maple, Milwaukee during Okka Fest 6.

All compositions by Mazzarella (BMI), Rempis (ASCAP), Vandermark (Twenty First Mobile Music/ASCAP), and Williams (Music from Mars/BMI) as noted.

Recorded, mixed, and mastered by Dave Zuchowski

Design by Johnathan Crawford

Produced by Dave Rempis

Special thanks to Janice White, Dan Morrizo, Adrienne Pierluissi, and Bruno Johnson


released April 13, 2017



Ken Vandermark Chicago, Illinois


contact / help

Contact Ken Vandermark

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code